Zoom has been dealing with security concerns and more and more institutions and organisations have been either banning the video calling app. Also Institutions and Organisations give warning people to not use it for meetings.
The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) recently give an advisory on how to keep your Zoom video call secure given that people are using Zoom for both official and personal video calls over the lockdown, essentially declaring the app unsafe for use.
Zoom has two types of users:
- Basic users and licensed users.
- Free Zoom users can delete their accounts easily, any time.
- But paid users need to cancel their subscription before they can delete their account.
- If you uninstalled the Zoom app from mobile its not delete your zoom account.
- So first delete your account and then uninstalled from mobile phone.
- Zoom account can delete only from web. We cannot delete zoom app from our app or mobile.
How to delete the basic or free Zoom account
- Go to the Zoom Web portal on your computer and sign in using email id and password.
- Click on the ‘Account Management’ tab that can be found on the left menu. Click on ‘Account Profile’.
- In the ‘Account Profile’ section, you can see the ‘Terminate Your Account’ option.
- Click on that and confirm the termination and defenitily the account will be deleted.
How to delete a licensed or paid Zoom account
- Go to the Zoom web portal on computer and sign in using Email and password
- Click on ‘Account Management’ and select ‘Billing’.
- In the ‘Current Plans’ tab select ‘Cancel Subscription’ to stop your automatic subscription renewal.
- Zoom will check with you if you really want to cancel, Click on the ‘Cancel Subscription’ button again.
- Zoom will then show a list of reasons asking the user why they no longer wish to use the paid plan or renew the subscription.
- Give a reason and continue.
- Once your subscription renewal has been deactivated, you can click on ‘Account Management’, go to ‘Account Profile’ and click on ‘Terminate Your Account’.
- After this your account will be deleted from zoom.