Google recently announced new storage policies for Google Accounts using Gmail, Google Drive (including Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms, and Jamboard files) and/or Google Photos that bring us in line with industry practices. Since you have previously used one or more of these products in your Google Account storage, new policies well before they go into effect on June 1, 2021.
Summary of the new policies (effective June 1, 2021)
- If you’re inactive for 2 years (24 months) in Gmail, Drive or Photos, we may delete the content in the product(s) in which you’re inactive. Google One members who are within their storage quota and in good-standing will not be impacted by this new inactive policy.
- If you exceed your storage limit for 2 years, we may delete your content across Gmail, Drive and Photos.
- You won’t be impacted by these changes unless you’ve been inactive or over your storage limit for 2 years. As this policy goes into effect June 1, 2021, the earliest it would be enforced is June 1, 2023.After June 1, 2021, if you are either inactive or over your storage limit, we will send you email reminders and notifications in advance and prior to deleting any content.
- Even if you are either inactive or over your storage limit for one or more of these services and content is deleted, you will still be able to sign in.
What happens when you’re inactive
When you have been inactive in Gmail, Google Drive (including Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms, Jamboard or Sites files) or Google Photos for 2 years, all of your content may be removed from that product. But before that happens, Google will give you notice using email and notifications within the Google products. Google will contact you at least three months before content is eligible for deletion.